Knitting Group and Beads

Knitting group was a success last Sunday. Nic and I went along to the Poultry Cross in Salisbury at the designated time where Bexx and Goldfishgirl were waiting for us, then Apricotqueen arrived with her daughter and we took ourselves to the nearest coffee shop. Safely ensconced in a corner with beverages and cake we began to knit and get to know each other. The other 3 ladies already knew each other and as Nic and I did too it wasn’t too awkward. 2 of the others spin aswell so I was able to ask questions about the difference between roving and silk hankies and other terms that I hadn’t quite got the hang of when listening to podcasts. I knitted my On Hold socks while Nic carried on with her blanket which she is knitting in a myriad of pinks for her craft/study room. We’re hoping to have another knitting session on 26 July when Daintykitty has moved to Salisbury from the US and hopefully Ebolajez and Shazspun will be able to make it too. Nic has just got an iPod for her birthday and is discovering the joy of podcasts so I’ve recommended Sticks & String and Cast On and I’m will be trying the two she suggested for me (I’ve forgotten the names right at this minute…) when I’ve sorted out my laptop’s memory issues.

I’ve not knitted a great deal this week as the weather has been ridiculously hot for the UK. But I have made myself a long necklace, bracelet and earrings from some green chinese beads I bought in London at The Bead Shop on Tower Street. I was given some gift vouchers for the local bead shop so I bought extra beads, charms and the chain to make the jewellry with my voucher. I had some credit on the voucher left over so today I bought these wonderful blue beads which I plan to make into a long necklace to match my blue shoes of happiness.

Tomorrow mum and I are heading to Winchester by train to the Handm@de craft fair in the guildhall and the craft exhibition in the Cathedral. Should be a good day out especially as it’s the Winchester Hat Fair too.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment